K-Tel Records Could Release This GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Soundtrack

The MCU has some pretty good needle drops

The 'inspired by' soundtrack to The Avengers has all of these terrifyingly awful artists on it: Bush, Papa Roach, Evanescence, Buckcherry. I don't really understand this album but I am afraid of it, afraid it represents the true tastes of those behind the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

If that's the case it hasn't shown through yet; the Marvel movies have some pretty decent needle drops so far, and Guardians of the Galaxy looks to have the best yet. From AC/DC (inoffensive) to Marvin Gaye (awesome), the Marvel films have had a little bit of background music, but it's never been center stage. Peter Quill/Starlord's Walkman is changing that in Guardians. Director James Gunn has released the track listing to the soundtrack, and it is full-on in the mode of K-Tel's classic 70s pop and one-hit wonder compilations. These songs! I've included YouTube embeds so your day can get great.

1. Blue Swede - Hooked on a Feeling

2. Raspberries - Go All the Way

3. Norman Greenbaum - Spirit in the Sky

4. David Bowie - Moonage Daydream

5. Elvin Bishop - Fooled Around and Fell in Love

6. 10Cc - I'm Not in Love

7. Jackson 5 - I Want You Back

8. Redbone - Come and Get Your Love

9. The Runaways - Cherry Bomb

10. Rupert Holmes - Escape (The Pina Colada Song)

11. The Five Stairsteps - O-O-H Child

12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell - Ain't No Mountain High Enough 

Related Articles